The Co-operative Bank plc Directors

Non-Executive Directors

Robert Dench

Bob Dench - Chairman

Independent: On Appointment
Committee Membership: Nomination (Chair), Audit, Values and Ethics (Chair)

Bob joined the Bank Board on 1 February 2018 and was appointed as Chairman on 14 March 2018. Bob has enjoyed a long career in banking, and was Chair of Paragon Banking Group PLC from 2007 until May 2018, having joined its Board in 2004. He chaired Paragon through the financial crisis and oversaw a reconfiguring of the business model as Paragon obtained its banking licence. Previously, he served on the boards of AXA UK and Ireland from 2004, as Senior Independent Director of AXA UK until December 2016 and Chair of AXA Ireland from 2007 to 2017. He was also Chair of AXA PPP Healthcare Limited from 2013 to 2017. Prior to that, he spent 28 years at Barclays, in a number of senior executive roles across the group in the UK, US and Australia.

Derek Weir

Derek Weir - Senior Independent Director

Independent: Yes
Committee Membership: Risk (Chair), Audit, Remuneration, Nomination

Derek joined the Bank Board in July 2014 and was appointed Chair of the Risk Committee on 26 January 2016. He was appointed as Senior Independent Director on 5 April 2018. He has over 25 years of financial services experience, holding a range of senior positions in corporate and commercial banking. During this time he held posts, both in the UK and internationally, at Barclays Bank plc and Royal Bank of Scotland plc, including being the Managing Director responsible for Commercial Banking in the UK for Royal Bank of Scotland plc. Derek is currently a Non-Executive Director of Motherwell Football Club Community Trust and a Director of Kerrach Limited. Derek is also Non-Executive Director of Halo Urban Regeneration Company Limited (formerly known as Macklin Enterprise Partnerships Consultancy Limited).

Glyn Smith

Glyn Smith - Non-Executive Director

Independent: Yes
Committee Membership: Audit (Chair), Risk, Values and Ethics

Glyn joined the Bank Board in October 2016, becoming Chair of the Audit Committee on 26 October 2016. He has over 40 years’ experience in the financial services sector, most notably in a number of senior executive roles in Barclays Bank and as Group Finance Director of the Portman Building Society. Since 2003, he has held numerous Non-Executive Directorships and chaired the Audit Committees of organisations across both the public and private sectors. These have included Coventry Building Society, Domestic & General Group and Stroud & Swindon Building Society in the financial services sector. Glyn is a Chartered Accountant and a former member of the examinations team of the ICAEW. He is currently also a Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committees of Reclaim Fund Ltd and Chair of West Bromwich Building Society Pension Trustees.

William Thomas

William Thomas - Non-Executive Director

Independent: Yes
Committee Membership: Remuneration (Chair), Risk, Nomination

William joined the Bank Board in October 2013. He is a former Senior Vice President of Hewlett - Packard and was on the Executive Committee of EDS plc as Executive Vice President. He has IT expertise and is an experienced leader and general manager with a track record in leading major change in large organisations. He has extensive commercial and operational experience, working domestically and internationally with both public and private sector organisations. He serves as the Chair of the Royal Navy and Royal Marines Charity and as the Non-Executive Chair of Spirent Communications plc. He is a Non-Executive Director and Chair of Chiron Topco Limited (registered in Jersey) of which the main trading subsidiary in the group is Node 4 Limited.  Additionally, he is an advisor to FireEye Inc, and a partner in Hopton Estates.

paul copley

Paul Copley - Non-Executive Director

Independent: No
Committee Membership: Risk, Remuneration, Nomination

Paul joined the Bank Board on 1 September 2018. He is a highly experienced and recognised specialist in restructuring activities and is a licensed UK insolvency practitioner. As a Partner at PwC he was one of the joint Administrators of Lehman Brothers International (Europe) and had responsibility for derivatives, repo, stock lending and securities portfolios, and agreement of creditor claims for the second largest bank restructuring in history. He stepped down from PwC in 2016 when he joined Kaupthing ehf as CEO. In that role he controlled the realisation of a €3.5bn+ portfolio of pan-European assets which included an Icelandic Retail Bank, operating businesses, real estate and litigation claims.

He is currently CEO and Director of Kaupthing ehf and a Director of Kaupskil ehf. He is also a Director of Aldan Management Limited and a Non-Executive Director of Steinhoff International Holdings NV. He is one of the joint Administrators of Phones 4U Limited.

Chris Vogelzang

Christiaan Vogelzang - Non-Executive Director

Independent: No
Committee Membership: Risk, Values and Ethics

Christiaan joined the Bank Board on 1 September 2018. He started his career at Shell, working as a marketer in Europe and Africa. He joined ABN AMRO in 2000, and served in different roles, such as head of Retail Banking and CEO, Global Private Banking. From 2009 until 2017, he was a member of the managing board of ABN AMRO, responsible for Retail and Private Banking. Since 2017, he has been a senior advisor to the Boston Consulting Group, and is a member of several supervisory and advisory bodies. He is also currently a Non-Executive Director of Wolters Kluwer NV.

Executive Director

Andrew Bester

Andrew Bester - Chief Executive Officer

Andrew joined the Bank Board on 9 July 2018 and assumed full CEO responsibilities from 20 July 2018. He is a banking leader with a track record in business turnaround and large-scale transformation. A qualified chartered accountant, whose career began with three years at PwC and subsequently three years at Deloitte, Andrew joined Standard Chartered Bank in 2004, where he held senior leadership roles in wholesale banking in Africa and Asia. In 2008, he took on the role of Chief Financial Officer for Standard Chartered's Consumer Banking division, and in 2011, he was appointed Chief Operating Officer for Consumer Banking. In his role as a Group Director and Chief Executive of the Commercial Banking division of Lloyds Banking Group, he led the successful customer-focused turnaround and transformation of the commercial/wholesale banking business over five years from 2012. He also led on inclusion and diversity for Lloyds Banking Group, and has multiple awards for his work, including 'Advocate of the Year' at the 2017 Women in Finance Awards.